Lists

My February 2013 in Film

Can Go Through Skin

Swings and roundabouts.

My film-viewing fell by the wayside in the month of February, with all 28 days occupied mostly by dilligent work on various magazine publications. I spent two weeks writing for Health Service Journal towards the end of the month, with the rest of my time spent as Features Editor for a team putting together a magazine entitled Vintage Business.

Putting in the long hours – 12 hour days, at times – meant less opportunity for cinematic exploits. Indeed, only 19 films managed to sneak in amidst the constant phone calls, torturous InDesign sessions and the occasional post-work brewski at everyone’s least favourite dive: ‘Spoons.

Worse still was my reading mission. Already downgraded from four books a month to three, the naive ambition reached an embarrassing nadir when I failed to even finish the solitary

  • Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut (1969)

despite it comprising a mere 200 pages.

March has thankfully come to rectify my shambolic efforts, to take me back to the glory days of January when I surpassed my goal of 25 films a month in admirable fashion. Print and cinema will both vie for my attention like two hounds at either end of a bacon rasher. Being the generous soul that I am, this attention will be peted out in equal, plentiful measure.

As February was somewhat lacking on the film front, here are my top 5 viewings for the month:

  1. Leap Year (dir. Michael Rowe, 2010, Mexico)
  2. You Ain’t Seen Nothin’ Yet (dir. Alain Resnais, 2012, France)
  3. Of Time and the City (dir. Terence Davies, 2008, UK)
  4. Can Go Through Skin (dir. Esther Rots, 2009, Netherlands)
  5. Ritual in Transfigured Time (dir. Maya Deren, 1946, USA)

Pray for me.

Leap Year

Leave a Reply

